Waterfall Refuge

Guest blogger Will Tucker, one of seven students in this summer’s Community Health Immersion, writes…

Rest is what we needed whether we realized it or not. Exhaustion is a safe word to describe the general state of our group. I don’t think we understood how tiring it could be to simply live.

“I don’t think we understood…”

If you had asked me heading into the CHI project if I thought I would be worn down from waking early in the morning, spending time with refugees in our complex and in clinic, and living in company with other like-minded individuals seeking to grow in Christ I would have responded, “Absolutely not, we’ll be doing good work,” but I was wrong. I realized quickly that work, no matter how good, can still wear a person thin and that rest, perhaps more appropriately refuge, is necessary. Where do people in Tennessee go when seeking refuge? It would appear they go to water holes, so we joined in. Cummins Falls was our destination and hopefully we could find rest there.

“Suddenly I recognized my own breathing…”

We hiked the trails all together, boisterously making our way over hills and back down again…over hills and back down again. We jumped this tree root and that one, avoiding walking into too much greenery and hopefully

Will Tucker is a rising senior at Union University.

Will Tucker is a rising senior at Union University.

poison ivy simultaneously. We walked down a hill, around a sharp turn, and back up again. Space between us grew larger and quiet ensued. Beauty surrounded us. As we continued walking along the path, just past a steep incline, I heard behind me Kenny voiced what everyone else was probably thinking, “Guys, I’m tired.” Suddenly I recognized my own breathing, the tiredness in my legs as I lifted for the next step, and the relief in hearing aloud exactly what I needed to hear.

 “There is no shame in acknowledging an unavoidable truth.”

The trail had done to us, exactly what the project had done thus far. It represented fairly well our journey together since arrival. Newness and excitement, work so new to us that it didn’t seem like work at all, the newness wearing off, and then exhaustion. Admitting, not defeat, but need for refuge is so important while you do good work. There is no shame in acknowledging an unavoidable truth. We are human, we need rest, and the only place to truly find the rest we so desperately need is in Christ. Even while we do good works, we must remember to come back to our Shepherd always, because He sustains us, knows us, and loves us more than we comprehend. He even invites us in Matthew 11:28, “Come to me, all who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.”

“Come to me, all who are weary and carry heavy burdens,

and I will give you rest.”

We did make our way down through the small river, over enormous rocks, and past obstacles along our path to the falls. We climbed the ledges, finally finding ourselves underneath the largest waterfall surrounded by God’s beautiful creation and there we were overcome by relief as we stood beneath its powerful downpour.

Chelsea Travis, Frances Cobb, and Reinie Thomas pause for a selfie during their trip to Cummins Falls in Cookeville, Tennessee.

Chelsea Travis, Frances Cobb, and Reinie Thomas pause for a selfie during their trip to Cummins Falls in Cookeville, Tennessee.

One thought on “Waterfall Refuge

Leave a Reply

