Children – Pulling at my Heart Strings

Guest blogger Chelsea Travis, one of seven students in this summer’s Community Health Immersion, writes…

My little neighbors are so full of life! The children of our neighborhood have taken a part of my heart. They bring me so much joy! They are always happy to see me and I, …I am truly happy to see them. I have gotten to know and befriend several of the kids. How sweet, thoughtful, sharing, and honest they are, and in such a ripe place of growing too. I know why Jesus loves the children! These encounters make me want to be a good role model for them and purposely teach them what is right, and to love God, themselves, and one another.

“I know why Jesus loves the children!”

I pray for these kids so much, especially those children for whom God has given me special discernment. Some of them I feel may be facing or have at some point in their lives faced neglect, trauma, or even abuse. These situations really do cause my heart pain. Just thinking of how ill things are shaping and affecting these young kids’ lives bothers me. Sometimes I especially hurt because I don’t know how to help them–particularly with their physical needs. At times, I feel this way because I look and think we barely have enough to take care of ourselves, yet I am determined to continue to pray earnestly for these kids and their families. This is especially important because we don’t know what things the rest of their families may be enduring –it could be anything from depression to abuse as well.

“Some…faced neglect, trauma, or even abuse.”

These kids, however, mostly just want to be around us and play games. Many of them have such big hearts. I proudly wear three colorfully beaded bracelets that were made by three of the girls here. One of them gave me a toy gift box filled with a card decorated with Minnie Mouse stickers, a purple hacky sack, and a hand full of different colored, plastic, jumping frogs. The families here are also very giving, as well. Often times, they welcome you into their homes offering a bottle of water or some juice–and this they give out of the little that they have. Our neighbors are so generous! I feel so blessed by this kindness. Lord, please help me to be able to come to a place where I can be even more generous out of a sincere heart and from Your Love.

“…they give out of the little that they have.”

I will truly miss these kids when it is time for us to leave. We have already had to experience a family moving away. Although they were moving on to better things it was still sad. Even though I will miss these kiddies dearly, I hope that I can leave them with memories and Someone who will be with them always as they continue on their life journeys.

“Then Peter said, ‘Silver and gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk.’” (Acts 3:6 NKJV)

Highlands Kids 1 (Chelsea Travis blog)

Reinie Thomas, a pre-medical student at Hope College in Michigan and CHI participant, enjoys laughter and games with kids in the neighborhood.

Highlands Kids 2 (Chelsea Travis blog)

Chelsea Travis, a recent graduate from the University of North Carolina pre-medical program, poses with neighbor children.

One thought on “Children – Pulling at my Heart Strings

  1. Praise God, Chelsea. He is breaking your heart for what breaks His – and YES – He does love the children! Keep planting those seeds, that they’ll later grow and bear much fruit…

Leave a Reply

