The Invitation

Caleb Huber 2014 CHI Program Director & 2013 Participant

Caleb Huber
2014 CHI Co-Project Director & 2013 Participant

I count everything as loss compared to the possession of the priceless privilege, the overwhelming preciousness, the surpassing worth, and the supreme advantage of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord and of progressively becoming more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him

– Philippians 3:8 (Amplified)

As a young person, I am pressed with the need to understand my calling. What does God want me to do with my life? How should my faith be making itself manifest in my environment?

One of the goals of the CHI project is to allow young people to seek God’s wisdom regarding their calling in medicine. As a participant last year, I was inspired to expand my vision for how God could use me in the years to come. I saw the [invisible] Church in action both in the clinic and in the community; it was a life-changing experience! This year, another seven (!) participants will set out on that journey.

In Matthew 22:1-14, Jesus gives us the parable of the wedding banquet. In the parable, God invites anyone who will listen to the wedding banquet of his Son, Jesus. Imagine receiving The Invitation in the mail:

“Jesus, King of Kings and Lord of Lords, cordially requests your presence at His wedding banquet TODAY. It’s sure to be the grandest party in the history of the universe. Reception to follow.”

This summer, seven participants received an invitation to participate in the CHI project. They answered “yes” despite the uncertainties:

  • Will it be difficult to live in the apartment complex?
  • Will I have any friends there?
  • Will I be able to communicate with the residents?

As they have stepped out in faith, they answered The Invitation. But here’s the crazy part, The Invitation was not primarily to service, it was to relationship with Him. It was to an exuberant celebration of His Person and His redemption of the very real brokenness in this world. The Invitation was not meant to obtain my time, my talents, my resources, or my perspiration. Rather, The Invitation asks for my heart. Philippians 3:8 says that true relationship with Jesus, the Infinite-Personal God, is possible, and that it is the only thing that really matters.

I am so excited to answer The Invitation this summer alongside the CHI Team members. As we set out on this project, we will certainly gain insight into the technical details of how God can use us. Most importantly, we will grow in our relationship with Jesus Christ and His people both in the clinic and in the community.

-Guest post written by Caleb Huber

Leave a Reply

