Learning to Start at the Beginning

With graduation rapidly approaching, the past few weeksCaleb Huber - CHI 2013 participant have involved a great deal of spiritual stretching.  God continues to pull me and direct me to expand my vision as I transition to the “real world”. Participating this summer in the CHI project at Siloam will be a superb opportunity to refocus on what is truly important in life: individuals!

Simply treading water and focusing on the pressing issues of my own needs come naturally to me. Instead of investing into the others around me, I become trapped in the daily grind and leave no margin for God to interject. The love, joy, and peace that would otherwise be evident become choked by the worries, riches, and pleasures of the world (Luke 8:14). This project will be a marvelous opportunity to start my post-undergrad life on the right foot and serve others, instead of just myself.

Amidst this, God has been using  Acts 10:38 to remind me of the path to follow. In this verse, Peter summarizes Jesus’ earthly ministry by saying, “God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and power, and…he went around doing good and healing all who were under the power of the devil, because God was with him.” Jesus went around doing good wherever He was. He could not help but make a place better (i.e. cause it to overflow with love, joy, peace, favor, and freedom) when he arrived. In the same way God has been reminding me to follow his direction but also to continue to grow where I am planted.

Although raising funds for this project has not been easy, it has been still be a journey of encouragement and growth. Receiving a letter of support causes me to stop and reflect. I realize that God really can use anyone. I remind God that He is going to have to show up since I don’t really have anything to contribute to this CHI project. I think that is what He wanted anyhow. I am trusting God (and often reminding myself to do so!) and am eagerly expecting His next move!

Lastly, I am looking forward to pursuing Jesus in conjunction with the other interns, Siloam staff, and the members of the larger Siloam community! During my college years, God has often used others to change my trajectory and shape the way I interact with others and even my perception of God and his character. I cannot wait to be “sharpened” by the members of the Siloam community!

Editor’s note: Caleb is one of six pre-medical students from across the country who will spend the summer in Nashville in a Community Health Immersion.

Leave a Reply

