God’s Call to Let Him be the Driver

Melissa Puntkattalee - CHI 2013 participant

If you had asked me 5 years ago what I would be doing during the summer of 2013, I would have never told you that I’d planned on doing a spiritually-led community health immersion

program. In fact, I probably would never have seen myself doing the things I am doing today such as going to church, attending small group with amazing sisters and brothers in Christ, or becoming involved with Christian organizations at my college. Nope, these were definitely things I did not have planned, but I’m so grateful that these are the things that are happening in my life today. When God moves and when God is the driver, the best things happen.

Growing up in a Buddhist family, I learned a lot about other cultures and religions before coming to faith in Christ. The past 5 years of my life have been filled with positive, spiritually-led change that has molded me into who I am now. Last December, I attended a mission conference in St. Louis called Urbana. There I heard from powerful speakers and strong believers who truly had the courage to follow God’s call for their life. Their faith and conviction blew me away. I spent a lot of time reflecting and just praying to God that I too would have the same courage and that He would guide my path. He has always given me a heart for those who live in poverty, especially since poverty is what tears my parent’s homeland, Thailand, apart. I felt that God continued to put that on my heart.

Here are a few things that have stuck with me from Urbana that constantly remind and fuel my passion to do missions for God, while continuing to grow closer to Him. Back from Urbana, I really felt like He wanted me to explore and develop my passion to serve others in this way while growing in Him this summer. By chance, I came across Community Health Immersion (CHI) and right away I knew this was what God wanted me to do. As a pre-health student, I encountered many great summer programs that included shadowing surgeons and doing research, but none of them seemed to be right for me like the CHI did. God has a plan for me and my fellow participants and I know this summer will be the best yet because God is the driver of it and He is moving.

“The place God calls you to is where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.”

“The grace of God is unearnable.”

“Even faith as small as a mustard seed can move mountains.”

“Don’t be confused, for proximity to the father is not the same thing as intimacy with the father.”

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”  Joshua 1:9

Leave a Reply

