To the Siloam Family

After just a few weeks, I have started to think that working in a clinic like Siloam is the job of my dreams. Even though it has only been a short time, I already get the sense of belonging and being part of the staff. It is still surprising to me when the providers approach me and ask me to go into the exam room with them. Somehow they feel comfortable enough to have me there helping our patients.

I never thought I would be able to connect so much and so fast with the people at Siloam. At the beginning, I was not even sure if I was going to like it there, but now I have learned to love it and enjoy my time at the clinic. I have tried to pinpoint the time at which I started liking it so much, but to my misfortune, I have not been able to do that. I think that is because since the first day I stepped through the door I felt welcome and at home.

The affection does not come uniquely from the clinic staff; it also comes from all the volunteers and patients I have encountered at Siloam. It is amazing to see how many volunteers are working in the clinic every single day. What I like the most is the fact that even though particular volunteers come in only a few times a week, they are as much part of the Siloam family as the permanent staff. As I come in, I always glance at the board with the volunteer nametags and every single time I am amazed by the number of tags hanging on the wall.

It is evident that at the Siloam Clinic patients’ lives are not the only ones being changed. Lately, I have seen that the lives of the staff, volunteers and visitors are being changed as soon as they walk through the front door. Throughout the short time I have spent working at Siloam; I have discovered how important this is for the successful recovery of our patients. I can say that it is easy to see how much God has blessed this clinic and how often He provides for its maintenance. All of this has made a huge difference in my life and the way I look at health care; but most of all, it has made me realize how much this experience means to me and for my future in medicine.

Leave a Reply

