Setting Down the Controller

As we entered the apartment, I noticed a strong odor reminiscent of curry and wet dog mixed together.  There was mismatched furniture laden with animal fur and lumpy cushions.  All in all, when I first entered the home my overall reaction was shock.  I have been living with creature comforts such as television, internet, and other forms of entertainment for years now and to have that all stripped away really took a toll on my emotional state.

However, after living this way for some time, I have learned that there is much more to life than cerebral stimulation of 1st world privileges.  In fact, I have come to realize that money isn’t needed in order to enjoy the wonders of God’s creation.  I have taken the time that I used to use playing video games and watching YouTube videos and turned it into time spent reading books, playing with the kids of the neighborhood, and most importantly, deepening my relationship with God through prayer and time spent in the Word.

Living in “poverty,” ironically, has most certainly been an enriching experience.  I feel that even though I have been unable to play a match of Call of Duty or Battlefield 3, I am much better for it and thank God for the experience that I have been blessed to be able to enjoy.

One thought on “Setting Down the Controller

Leave a Reply

